Sun Sui Wah Quick Dim Sum

Sun Sui Wah 新瑞華海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

Haven’t had dim sum in a while. I used to go at least 2-3 times a week, but since school was hectic earlier I never got a chance to sit down and have dim sum. This meal was quick though, not my usual 1-1.5 hour meal. And I don’t usually go to Sun Sui Wah because I have other favorites but I had an appointment near by. So I went in for quick dim sum with my mom and off I went. Upon arriving, I was greeted by the host and then immediately got seated. It wasn’t too busy around 1pm surprisingly, but it was a weekday. The waiters there are very nice, funny thing I noticed was… They would walk around kind of frowning. But once you ask for them, they have the BIGGEST smile on their face. Props for good happy service. But I wish they had English on their menu. I had such a hard time figuring out what I wanted to order while waiting for my mom.

Dumping

Since the menu was in Chinese, I don’t have the exact name for it. This dish was highlighted on their menu to be a new item. So we decided to give it a try, the name didn’t say what it was exactly, but we were feeling adventurous that day. It was just shrimp dumpling with 3 little additives to it. The corn, pea and carrot. HAHA. The wrap was very sticky and broke easily. I thought it was a little too thick for my liking, but some people might enjoy the stickiness.

Beef

Usually I really don’t like eating this because I’m not a big fan of beef (ground beef actually), besides steak. Everyone loves steak excluding vegetarians. Although the dish came steaming hot, we were a little worried because the middle was bright pink. We ate it anyways, and we were fine.

Halibut

I love this dish, everywhere anywhere. This is the ginger onion halibut. I absolutely loved the taste of this dish. I know I shouldn’t be complaining about the oiliness but it was very oily, but nonetheless, still excellent. I wish they had more meat though, half of the dish was all bones but the sauce was amazing.

IMG_9269

One of my favorite desserts at Dim Sum. Sucks that I’m lactose intolerant, but thank god I had my pills so I had some of this delicious and delicate dessert. I know it’s easy to make (hello YouTube), but I would not make the effort to make it. This came last and boy did it come steaming out. When the waitress took off the lid, the steam went everywhere. The ginger steamed milk wasn’t overly sweet, but could use a little more ginger. I could barely taste it. But since I can’t make it, I won’t complain.

Sun Sui Wah is good, but nothing amazing. I would not add this to my favorites, but probably favorite the service there. I like how they smile whenever you call on them. (:

Leave a Reply

